Economic Development Authority

01economic3The Economic Development Authority (EDA) of Smyth County is the primary organization responsible for industrial development within Smyth County, including the development of publicly-owned industrial parks and financing assistance for the attraction of new or expansion of existing industry within the County. The EDA is composed of a seven member Board of Directors appointed by election district by the Smyth County Board of Supervisors for four year terms. The EDA is supported by the Smyth County Community and Economic Development Department.
Some of the past projects of the EDA have been:

  • Development of the Mountain Empire Industrial Park in Atkins  and the Deer Valley Industrial Park in Chilhowie
  • Partnership with Washington County to form the Smyth-Washington Regional Industrial Facilities Authority and the Highlands Business Park, a joint venture of both counties. 
  • Governor’s Opportunity Fund (GOF) awards, Tobacco Commission grant funding, industrial development bond financing, and local incentive funding for various new industry and industry expansion projects 
  • Support for workforce training initiatives and existing industry appreciation events
  • Strategic planning for economic development
MEETING SCHEDULEThe EDA meets regularly on the third Wednesday every month at 3:30 pm in the Board of Supervisors Meeting Room, Smyth County Office Building, 121 Bagley Circle, Marion, VA.   mapGoogle Map
All meetings are open to the public.
MEMBERSAmy Allison McVey, Saltville District
John McLean, North Fork District, (Chair)
Tom Bishop, Chilhowie District
Marvin Craig, Atkins District
Karen Copenhaver, Royal Oak District
Julius Winebarger, Park District
Montie S. Fleshman, Rye Valley District

For more information contact:
Shawn Utt, County Administrator
121 Bagley Circle, Suite 100 
Marion, VA 24354 
Phone: (276)783-3298
Fax: (276)783-9314